The late Maria S. Theochari (†29.5.2004), a prominent historian of Byzantine art, who was highly devoted to the study of Byzantine and post-Byzantine gold-embroidery, established in 2003 a prize for the best scholarly paper in the field of Byzantine and post-Byzantine painting. The prize was awarded twice during her lifetime, in May 2003 and 2004. The late Eugenia S. Theochari (†21.8.2016) warmly supported the continuation of the Maria S. Theochari award, as a tribute to her sister. The prize is now awarded on a regular basis by the “Periklis S. Theocharis Foundation” to the best scholarly paper in the field of Byzantine and post-Byzantine painting, either published separately or in an esteemed journal of international circulation.


The prize is awarded every other year and is accompanied by the amount of 2,000 euros.

It is open to candidates regardless of age and nationality, whose submitted works are evaluated by a committee of anonymous readers designated by the Administrative Board of the Christian Archaeological Society. The prize is awarded during the Symposium on the year following its announcement.


The call for submissions with the terms for participation is advertised on the website of the Society and forwarded to its members and to the scholarly community.





To date, the following books have received the award:



Maria Theochari Award

  • Maria Theochari Award, (2.000€), May 2017 +

    Sharon E. J.Gerstel, Rural Lives and Landscapes in late Byzantium. Art Archaeology and Ethnography, Cambridge University Press 2015

  • Maria Theochari Award, (2.000€), April 2015 +

    Eirene Theocharopoulou for the book titled: «Οι τοιχογραφίες του ναού της Κοίμησης Θεοτόκου στην Επισκοπή Ευρυτανίας», published by the Society for the Dissemination of Beneficial Books, Athens 2014

  • Maria Theochari Award, (2.000€), May 2013 +

    Nektarios Zarras for the book titled: «Ο εικονογραφικός κύκλος των Εωθινών Ευαγγελίων στην Παλαιολόγεια μνημειακή ζωγραφική των Βαλκανίων», published by the Centre for Byzantine Research in the series Byzantine Texts and Studies, no. 57, Thessaloniki 2011

  • Maria Theochari Award, (4.000€), May 2011 +

    1. Argyro Karaberidi for the book titled: «Η Μονή Πατέρων και η ζωγραφική του 16ου και 17ου αιώνα στην περιοχή της Ζίτσας Ιωαννίνων», published at Ioannina in 2009 by the Society of Epirote Studies.

    2. Nikolaos Toutos and Georgios Fousteris for the book titled: «Ευρετήριο της Μνημειακής Ζωγραφικής του Αγίου Όρους 10ος – 17ος αι.», published in Athens in 2010 by the Research Centre for Byzantine and post-Byzantine Art of the Academy of Athens.

    Honorary award to the late Theodoros Archontopoulos for his book «Ο ναός της Αγίας Αικατερίνης στην πόλη της Ρόδου και η ζωγραφική του ύστερου μεσαίωνα στα Δωδεκάνησα (1309-1453)», Rhodes - Athens 2009, published by the Archaeological Institute of Aegean Studies of the Ministry of Culture.

  • Maria Theochari Award, (4.000€), May 2009 +

    Eleni Papastavrou for the book titled: Recherche iconographique dans l’ art byzantin et occidental du XIe au XVe siècle: l’ annonciation», which received the “Maria Theochari” award on Saturday, 16 May 2009.

  • Maria Theochari Award, (3.000€), May 2007 +

    Nikolaos Siomkos for the book titled: L’ église Saint-Etienne à Kastoria. Étude des différentes phases du décor peint (Xe-XIVe siècles)

  • Maria Theochari Award, (3.000€), May 2004 +

    Angeliki Katsioti for the article titled: «Παρατηρήσεις στη ζωγραφική του 14ου-15ου αιώνα στα Δωδεκάνησα. O ησυχασμός και οι τοιχογραφίες του Aγίου Nικολάου στα Xείλη της Tήλου», Archaiologikon Deltion, Part A’, Meletai 54 (1999), Athens 2003, p. 327-342

  • Maria Theochari Award, (5.000€), May 2003 +

    Titos Papamastorakis for the book titled: Ο διάκοσμος του τρούλου των ναών της παλαιολόγειας περιόδου στη βαλκανική χερσόνησο και την Κύπρο»

  • 1